Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
CISR: default

CISR Designation

IIAN manages the Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) designation program in Nebraska. The CISR Program trains new agents and CSRs to better understand and analyze risks and exposures. There are nine courses offered through the CISR program.
Agents may choose any five of the nine courses to earn their CISR designation:
  • Commercial Casualty I - CGL, Additional Insureds
  • Commercial Casualty II - BAP, WC, Excess Liability
  • Insuring Commercial Property
  • Insuring Personal Auto Exposures
  • Insuring Personal Residential Property
  • Personal Lines Miscellaneous
  • Agency Operations
  • Elements of Risk Management
  • Life & Health Essentials  


Program Eligibility

Anyone working in the insurance field is eligible to participate the CISR program. Because course content thoroughly addresses all aspects of risks and exposures, the courses are particularly beneficial for new agents, as well as newer agency and company personnel. 

Benefits of Earning CISR Designation

The Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) program is one of the industry's superior education opportunities. The program empowers agents and CSRs to provide exceptional customer service. Participants receive up-to-date information they can apply immediately in their day-to-day interactions with customers, including a complete knowledge of risks, coverages and exposures, cross selling and account rounding skills.  

Requirements to Earn the CISR Designation

An optional examination is held at the conclusion of each course. To earn the CISR designation, participants must successfully complete five courses and exams within a three-year period

Requirements to Earn the CISR Elite distinction

After earning your CISR designation, you can pursue the CISR Elite distinction which is achieved by passing the remaining four CISR courses that you had not previously taken for the CISR designation.  The four remaining courses and exams must be completed within a three-year period. Earning you the highest recognition for those in customer service anywhere.

Retaining the CISR Designation 

To retain the CISR designation, annual continuing education is required. Designees may fullfil the yearly update by one of the following:
  1. attending a regular core CISR course, without the exam
  2. attending a William T. Hold seminar
  3. attending a Dynamics of Service seminar


ONLINE Classes

The National Alliance does offer all of its CISR classes in an online format. Learn in a self-paced environment with mini-quizzes to aid in material retention.  Participants have 60 days from the day of registration to complete the course AND exam.

Online Class Information and Registration (through the National Alliance).




View our Education Calendar to see all the seminars we have scheduled along with links to online registration.


Need to know when your CISR update is or what CISR classes you have taken?

Click on the "My Page" button below to find out.



The National Alliance recently launched the CISR Elite distinction, which signifies agents who have taken extra steps to strengthen their knowledge of the insurance industry. Agents can earn the new CISR Elite distinction by completing all nine CISR courses.

Those who have the CISR designation will take four new courses to earn the distinction in a three-year period. The latest CISR classes created are:
  • Commercial Casualty I - CGL, Additional Insureds OR Commercial Casualty II - BAP, WC, Excess Liability (not both- orgininal Comm. Casualty class was divided.)


  • Personal Lines Miscellaneous


  • Elements of Risk Management


  • Life & Health Essentials  (online only in Nebraska)