IIAN Foundation


Seated:  President Dee Sykora, Vice President Jay Sillau

Standing (L-R):  Fundraising Chairman Dave Chastain, Jon Hongsermeier, Jeff Ewen, Aaron Kobza, Chad Thies, Carol McClelland

Not Pictured:  Greg Donsbach, Lisa Laday-Davis, Robert Marshall


The IIAN Foundation was established in 1989 as a project of the IIAN Young Agents committee. The Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized under the laws of the State of Nebraska in for educational uses and purposes.  The Foundation board of directors collaborates with the IIAN board to support and promote insurance education in Nebraska's high schools and colleges, and attract Nebraska college students to careers in the independent agency system. 

IIAN and the IIAN Foundation are working together to:

Build a new Talent Network to connect Nebraska college students with jobs and opportunities in the independent agency system.  Under development:
  • Internships - providing the tools and coaching independent agencies need to develop relationships with promising business students.
  • Jobs pipeline - promoting open insurance positions to business students and helping agencies recruit new talent
  • Basic training - providing basic insurance training for interns and new employees
Promote ongoing insurance education in Nebraska high schools and community colleges in partnership with Project InVEST, a national nonprofit educational organization supported by IIABA.
  • Online associate business degree program - 2-year Insurance Services associate degree or a 1-year Insurance Certificate to students of all ages all across Nebraska, through Northeast Community College.
  • InVEST website - Provides online resources for students, teachers, and industry volunteer speakers.


 Industry Leadership

IIAN and IIAN Foundation leaders ​​​are doing their part to perpetuate and improve the independent insurance profession in Nebraska. The significant contributions these individuals and companies make impact the lives of many others and set an example of great generosity for us all.  Call the Foundation office for more information.


Foundation Board:
President:  Dee Sykora, AAI, AU, CPIW
Vice President:  Jay Sillau, CPCU
Secretary/Treasurer: Carol McClelland, CAE

Phone: 402.476.2951

Greg Donsbach
Jeff Ewen
Jon Hongsermeier
Aaron Kobza

Lisa Laday-Davis, CPA, CPCU, ARM-P, ARe
Robert Marshall
Chad Thies

New Talent Program Director:
Kelli Backman
Phone: 402.476.2951


Foundation Events:
Foundation Auction at IIAN Winter Conference