

E-Bulletin

October 24, 2019

# **Annual IIAN Awards Presented October 10**

## **IIAN Awards**

Outgoing IIAN president Sandra Ryks, presented IIAN's annual agent and company awards at the Big "I" Leadership Luncheon on October 10 in Kearney.

### Member agents honored were:



### Distinguished Service Award – Robert L. Hoppe,

CPCU, AFIS, Columbus - for 25 years' dedicated advocacy on behalf of IIAN member agencies, before the U.S. Congress in Washington, D.C., and the Nebraska Unicameral legislature. Hoppe has chaired IIAN's Legislative committee for 11 years, and is an unrelenting personal fundraiser for the Big "I" national political action committee - InsurPac - and for IIAN's Nebraska political action committee. He has served as a trustee on the national InsurPac Board for four years, achieving "Eagle" fundraising status for Nebraska in each of those years, and was honored with the national Big "I" Burns award this year for his outstanding fundraising work and political activism.

Committee Chairperson of the Year – Douglas J. Brummels, Kearney – for his leadership as chairman of IIAN's Annual Convention Committee, as well as president of Nebraska Agency Services Corporation, IIAN's for-profit subsidiary, which oversees all commission-producing member programs, including the exclusive Westport Professional Liability program.





Young Agent of the Year – Zachary J. Morken, Ogallala, for his leadership as chairman of IIAN's Young Agent Committee, creating a new leadership development track for the committee, and presenting 13 new Nextgen CE and networking programs for young agents in Omaha,

### Member company representatives honored were:



### **Company Representative of the Year – Jeffrey Ewen**, Senior Territory Manager, Safeco Insurance Company, in recognition of exemplary service to member agents, and his personal service as a director and supporter of the Independent Insurance Agents of Nebraska Foundation, for the past three years.

Five Star Company of the Year – Nationwide, accepted by Sales Manager Brooke Jeffus, Sales Directors Brian Rakers and Dave Appleget, and Nebraska Sales Managers Steve Mitchell and Brad Forsberg.

