Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

CISR Designation


CISR Designation

The Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) Program trains new agents and CSRs to better understand and analyze risks and exposures. The CISR designation is managed by The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research and provides up-to-date information that will immediately improve your daily interactions with customers and clients.

Our CISR classes are are now presented live and in person, with live simulcast online option!

Commercial Property - October 28th - IIAN Lincoln

Commercial Casualty I - November 4th - Omaha

Click here to register

Exam Information: We have been working with The National Alliance to grant you access to the corresponding online CISR exam should you choose to take the optional essay question exam.  The exam will be available to you through your PROfile page beginning at 12:01 am CST on the Monday following this course and will be open for three days until 11:59 pm on Wednesday. If there is any issue with the timing, please contact the National Alliance as soon as possible.

CISR online exams require a proctor. You need an individual to proctor you while you take the online exam. They fill out the proctor affidavit after you submit the exam acknowledging that they served as a proctor for you and all rules and processes were followed accordingly. Due to COVID-19, the proctoring rules have been relaxed so that you may use a family member and/or significant other as your proctor. You are also welcome to use an online proctoring system such as

 CISR courses are available online for self-study from The National Alliance - click Online Self-Study


To earn the CISR designation, you must complete five of the following courses and exams within three years. To retain the designation, simply attend one of the courses (no exam required) each year after that:

  • Commercial Casualty I - CGL, Additional Insureds
  • Commercial Casualty II - BAP, WC, Excess Liability
  • Insuring Commercial Property
  • Insuring Personal Auto Exposures
  • Insuring Personal Residential Property
  • Personal Lines Miscellaneous
  • Agency Operations
  • Elements of Risk Management
  • Life & Health Essentials   

CISR Elite is a distinguished designation for agents that want to show they have taken the extra step. To earn CISR Elite, you must attend all nine of the above courses and exams within the three-year period.