Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Nov 04
Nebraska State Election Results

​The races for the legislature in Nebraska have​ come to a close, and the winning candidates have been elected. IIAN endorsed 24 Unicameral candidates, and 17 of those candidates won - batting 700. ​ Republicans picked up three seats and Democrats picked up one for a net +2 for republicans in the 49 member legislative body.  But the gain fell one short of the 33 votes required to end a filibuster.  Read more at Lincoln Journal Star.​

On the legislative f ront, there is always at least one surprise.  This year it was incumbent Dan Quick losing to former State Senator Ray Aguilar.  Quick beat Aguilar 63% to 37% in the pandemic primary, but Aguilar turned it around in the general election.  And appointed Sen. Andrew LaGrone was defeated by Jen Day in district 49.

Organizing for the 2021 legislative session begins immediately.  There will be a  new Speaker, several new committee chairs, and new committee assignments - and IIAN will be there to represent independent insurance agents!

Click here to view election results as of November 4​


There are no comments for this post.