Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Nov 17
Meet Your 2021-22 IIAN President and Officers

The 2021-22 IIAN leaders were sworn in on Oct. 28 during the annual convention, which marked the beginning of their one-year terms.

Your new IIAN leadership includes President Vincent Christensen of St. Paul, Vice President Zak Morken of Lincoln and Secretary-Treasurer Doug Brummels of Kearney.  

Cropped_VChristensen.jpgVince has been an agent for Christensen Insurance for 10 years and became co-owner in 2016. Prior to serving as IIAN President, he has held offices of Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer and has been part of the Board of Directors since 2016. Vince chairs the Finance committee and the Legislative Political Action Committee and is part of the Legislative Advisory Council as a Big “I” Ambassador. 

At this year’s Awards Banquet during the annual convention, Vince was presented with the “Chairperson of the Year” award for his Legislative Political Action Committee leadership.  In the past, he earned the IIAN Young Agent of the Year Award in 2015, and completed IIAN’s Innovative Leadership Program in 2016. 

Vince has played a big part in the Big “I”’s political activism, having represented IIAN at IIABA’s Legislative Conference in Washington, D.C. every year since 2015 and was named 2015’s National InsurPac Young Agent of the Year.  

“Regardless of the industry you work in, it is important to serve and advocate for that industry.  By promoting our independent agency system, we get the opportunity to promote the work we do and help shape laws that impact our business,” Vince said.    

As President, hopes to help educate members about the many Big “I” benefits and resources offered to them; he believes there are tools available for large, small, new, or well established Big “I” member agencies.   

In addition, he encourages the continued progress of the college outreach program, through which IIAN networks with college students to usher in the next generation of insurance professionals.    

“I feel this is a great benefit to both member agencies and company partners,” Vince said.  

Overall, Vince is looking forward to additional in-person meetings and get-togethers throughout the coming year.  


Zak Morken.pngIIAN Vice President Zak Morken is Chief Executive Officer for First State Insurance Agency in Lincoln. Prior to joining FSI Agency in June, Zak was sales manager for Adams Insurance Advisors for six years. He previously was IIAN Secretary-Treasurer and has been part of the Board of Directors since 2017.  

Zak chaired the 2021 Annual Convention Committee and Member Engagement Task Force. His past committee service includes Nextgen (Chairman 2017), Trusted Choice Task Force, IIAN Foundation Fundraising, and the Legislative Advisory Council - Ambassador. 

His past IIAN Awards include Young Agent of the Year (2019), Committee Chairman of the Year (2017), and he completed IIAN’s Innovative Leadership Program in 2015. 


Doug Brummels-smaller-size.jpgThe new Secretary-Treasurer Doug Brummels has been president of Affiliated Brokers Insurance in Kearney since 2014, has served as an agent there since 2003.  

Doug joined the IIAN Board of Directors in 2020. His past IIAN Committee service includes Nebraska Agency Services Corp. (Director 2017-Present, President 2019); Annual Convention (Chairman 2019); Farm & Rural Agents (Chairman 2020 and 2021); Legislative Committee, Legislative Advisory Council – Ambassador. Doug was named IIAN’s Committee Chairman of the Year in 2019. 

Congratulations to our officers and we're excited for a great year of Big "I" events and programs!


There are no comments for this post.